Newbie Post #1 – My humble beginnings . . .

Chapter one
I think I’ve always been a writer, I just didn’t know it. As a child, after the Little House on the Prairie books were read to me for the first time, I’d walk around narrating my day in my head. You know, just in case I was ever called upon to write my life story, I’d have a jump start! 🙂 Later I developed elaborate story lines for my Barbies. Those ladies (and Ken) lived some amazing lives. They survived WWII, the Civil War, explored deep space galaxies, defeated evil sorceress queens and had some steamy PG romances! To keep things straight, I’d write down timelines, stories, who loved who, etc. The beginnings of my novel writing.

My little sister and I shared a room, so we would lie awake for hours (especially during those light-filled summer nights when we still had to go to bed at 8pm! 😦 ) and I would tell her stories. I vividly remember the telling, but not the story, of a sorceress dressed in purple and green. She was based on a coloring page I had completed that day. My sister would be entertained with my ramblings until our dad would pound on the floor (our ceiling-their room was above us) to tell us to go to sleep. We’d stop talking, but it didn’t stop us from dreaming up more stories to play the next day!

About 4th grade I discovered actual story writing. I was encouraged by my teacher, Mrs. Kelley and I owe her a big thank you for helping me to see that writing was a potential career. Many ideas were started and cast aside and my favorite Christmas present that year was a word processor. Wish I still had it, for nostalgia’s sake. 5th grade introduced the career of an architect to me and I admit I was distracted for many years, but I never gave up on the idea of someday writing. All through high school and college, I entertained the notion, but did very little with it. If I came up with an idea, I’d jot it down, filing it away for future use. I earned an Associates degree in Architectural Technology, went to work, and put a lot of my dreams and aspirations aside for children and husband. But dreams never die, they just slumber. On the next Newbie Post? Dreams Awakening . . .

When did you know you had to be a writer? Was it a eureka moment or a slow burn until you knew writing was in your soul? Were you young or did it hit you later in life?

12 thoughts on “Newbie Post #1 – My humble beginnings . . .

  1. My first writerly memory was me hiding under the dining room table when I was 7. I was writing a very dramatic scene in a Lisa Frank notebook and knew it was epic, knew it was intense, so powerful that it felt like a secret mission. And I fell in love with the feeling, so I think that’s when it all started. 🙂

    Like

    • Lisa Frank! That’s great. I distinctly remember starting a story about a 10 year old girl whose mother died and her best friend shunned her. It was all started because of a notebook I had that showed a turkey on the front and said “Let’s talk turkey!” The amazing book was going to have that title and the mc was going to use it to confront the friend. I was convinced I was going to be the next Judy Blume! Did you ever finish your epic? 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Newbie Post #2 – Dreams Awakening . . . | Jennifer Austin – Author

  3. Pingback: Newbie Post #4 – Sally Green’s acknowledgments and why they mean something to me | Jennifer Austin – Author

  4. Pingback: Newbie Post #3 – Yeah, about that hobby thing . . . | Jennifer Austin – Author

  5. Pingback: Newbie Post #5: Let it go! Let it go! Turn away and slam the door! | Jennifer Austin – Author

  6. Pingback: Newbie Post #6: Sometimes you win; Sometimes you LEARN! | Jennifer Austin – Author

  7. Pingback: Newbie Post #7: Beta Readers and Why They Rock! . . . Most of the Time . . . | Jennifer Austin – Author

  8. Pingback: Newbie Post #8: Writing Prompts Are One-Night Stands! | Jennifer Austin – Author

  9. Pingback: Newbie Post #9: Your Novel Is Not Ready to be Seen by Anyone! | Jennifer Austin – Author

Leave a Reply

