Newbie Post #3 – Yeah, about that hobby thing . . .

NX_hand_holding_pencil
In Newbie Post #2 I discussed how I became a stay-at-home mom and decided to make fiction writing my hobby. For anyone who’s been bitten by the writing bug, you know how laughable this is. It didn’t take long before I realized that my hobby was actually an insatiable desire to put thought to paper, feeding my spiritual being with the stories in my head and having the ultimate goal of sharing those pieces of my soul with the world. A little dramatic? Yes, but a rather accurate representation of how I feel on many occasions.

So, while my daughter tumbled and flipped her way through four hour gymnastic practices, I researched and typed and scribbled. When there weren’t any cookies or brownies to bake for my son’s classroom, I plotted and planned and developed characters. Every night as I lay there trying to fall asleep, I’d imagine scenes from my book and what I was hopefully going to write the next day. My appetite for reading became voracious, devouring everything and anything that was either research for material, or comparable MG titles. My inspired novel was MG, so I convinced myself—and anyone who asked—that I was doing valuable research. I might of just liked reading. 🙂

At what point was writing no longer a hobby? I can’t remember.

. . . I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once. – John Green, THE FAULT IN OUR STARS

Oh, how I love that line! It can describe so many things in my life, and especially writing. Let’s hope my writing career has a happier ending than Hazel Grace, but if it doesn’t:

. . . I can not tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. – John Green, THE FAULT IN OUR STARS

On the next Newbie Post I’ll discuss what’s written in Sally Green’s acknowledgements for HALF BAD . . .

Newbie Post #1
Newbie Post #2

13 thoughts on “Newbie Post #3 – Yeah, about that hobby thing . . .

  1. Oh, wow, a lot of new posts here since I last checked!!

    On the whole, I don’t much like John Green, but I do adore that quote. About falling in love. 😀 *happy squeeing*

    Like

    • TFIOS is the only John Green I’ve read and I loved it, but it seems like people either love him or hate him. I’ve seen it go both ways! 🙂 I’d like to read some of his other books eventually. We’ll see if my affection for his writing continues after I’ve got a couple other titles under my belt.

      Like

      • I remember “An Abundance of Katherines” (I read it a few years back) as being decent. Kind of dorky and not perfect, but nice. It just doesn’t cancel out TFioS for me. xD But other than that, I haven’t read any others. I probably will someday. They’re just not top priority right now.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Newbie Post #4 – Sally Green’s acknowledgments and why they mean something to me | Jennifer Austin – Author

  3. Pingback: Newbie Post #5: Let it go! Let it go! Turn away and slam the door! | Jennifer Austin – Author

  4. Pingback: Newbie Post #6: Sometimes you win; Sometimes you LEARN! | Jennifer Austin – Author

  5. Pingback: Newbie Post #7: Beta Readers and Why They Rock! . . . Most of the Time . . . | Jennifer Austin – Author

  6. Pingback: Newbie Post #8: Writing Prompts Are One-Night Stands! | Jennifer Austin – Author

  7. Pingback: Newbie Post #9: Your Novel Is Not Ready to be Seen by Anyone! | Jennifer Austin – Author

Leave a Reply

