Liebster Award – What’s a Liebster?

liebster-award
So I’ve seen these little icons floating around the blogosphere proclaiming I’ve Won a Liebster Award! But what the heck are they? I had no idea, and being new to blogging I decided to concentrate my efforts elsewhere. I’d learn what a Liebster was later after I had more experience with this new blogging adventure. Well, that later wasn’t so much later after all, because E.J. McGrogery over at 90,000 Words: Wannabe author . . . the story of my story nominated me for the award. Thank you E.J., but . . . que the crash course in Liebster research!

If you’re like me and you have no idea what a Liebster is, you can take a look at the various rules, the purpose and the official rules here. You can also check out E.J.’s blog post where she not only participates in the award process but outlines it for all of us newbies. I love when people give me detailed information to move forward with! And don’t forget to peruse E.J.’s blog. We are on a similar journey of being moms and aspiring writers and it’s nice to share info with people who understand where you’re coming from.

On to the questions. Here are the 11 questions provided me by E.J. and my answers:

1. What are you hoping to achieve with your blog?
Achieve? I have to achieve something? Oh, crap, now I’m feeling the pressure! I guess what I’m hoping to achieve is first, begin a writer’s platform. I want to show prospective agents and publishers that I’m ready and willing to do the hard work required to market my book. Second, I want to connect with other writers. Whether it’s creating working relationships and writing/critiquing partners, or just learning from their knowledge, I’m interested in being part of the larger writing community instead of quietly hiding in my little hole and clicking away on the keyboard! Lastly, I’d like to share what little info I have with those around me, and also to show other newbie writers that they are not alone! We all go through self-doubt, mistakes, not understanding the industry. The only way we can learn and grow and make it in this business is to help each other along. Maybe I’ll never be published (though I refuse to accept that!) but if I can help another on their journey to success, then at least I’ve accomplished something.

2. What’s the best advice you’ve ever been given on blogging/writing?
Yikes! There’s too much to condense to one point! Check out my Pinterest boards The Business of Writing and Wise Words and you’ll see that I’ve collected quite a few gems. The one that comes to mind though is:

They say write what you know, but I say write what you want to know.

I’m totally paraphrasing because I can’t remember it perfectly, or even who said, so there it is in all it’s imperfectly cited glory.

3. What was the last concert you went to?
So don’t judge me for this, but Jimmy Buffet. No, I’m not a Parrothead, but my husband is borderline. He and his friends used to go every year when Buffet rolled into town. Now we try to make it every couple of years. I like his music. It’s fun and simple and some are truly poetic in their inner meanings if you take the time to listen. But man, ticket prices are getting steep, and then there’s the kids and babysitters. This year I dodged the bullet because my husband had already planned our vacation to Boston before we found out when Buffet was going to be in Detroit! Yay! I mean, oh darn. 😉

4. What’s your biggest dream?
Being published is the dream. Making decent money, having fans and most importantly being able to continue doing what I love would be fantastic!

5. What’s the best TV show you’re currently watching and why?
Hmmmm . . . Well, I’m currently into Revolution, but I’m a little passive about it. I have three episodes on my DVR I haven’t watched yet. I’m writing post-apocalyptic, so that’s probably why it piques my interest. Plus who doesn’t love Elizabeth Mitchell? And Billy Burke (Miles) is by far my favorite character. They kill him or Zak Orth (Arron) and I’m done with the show!

6. Why do you write?
Umm, because I like breathing, and I’m pretty sure if I stopped my lungs would give out in protest. Or maybe my heart or my brain or some other vital organ. As miserable as the process can make you sometimes, I can’t imagine my life without some form of writing!

7. When was the last time you wrote a letter and who was it to?
If we are talking honest-to-God paper and ink letter, I don’t remember. I’ve written plenty of thank you notes over the years for birthdays, Christmas, wedding, baby showers, etc. Every year I write a family newsletter about what we’ve been up to and include it in the Christmas card (but I forgot this year) and besides it’s typed and printed on the computer, so not sure that counts.

8. On the weekend, if you’re not writing, what are you usually doing?
Oh, so many things! Cleaning, taking care of kids, baseball in the spring and soccer in the fall, visiting family who all live two hours away, the list goes on and on . . .

9. Coke or Pepsi?
Don’t ask ridiculous questions. Coke. Always Coke. Pepsi yuck!

10. If you could go anywhere in the world tomorrow, where would you go and why?
Disneyworld. I know it’s cliche, and Hazel Grace wasted her Wish on Disney, but my six-year-old has never been. The twins are too young, but Minion #3 would have a blast and my husband and I would love to share it with him!

11. How would you describe yourself in three words?
Creative. Obsessive. Empathetic.

Now for 11 random facts about myself . . .

1. I love colorful socks. Stripes, argyle, polka dots, just make them bright and fun and I’m in!
2. I have a hard time buying shirts because my arms are too long and the sleeves never fit right!
3. When I first moved out of my Dad’s house I was afraid to order pizza because I would have to talk to a stranger.
4. Too many conflicting and/or loud noises makes me feel claustrophobic.
5. When I was a pre-teen I was a huge NKOTB fan.
6. I hate winter, but I would never want to move out of Michigan!
7. Shopping gives me a headache. It’s really sad!
8. I don’t own enough bookshelves, and this is the true travesty in my life.
9. My ancestors came from a little place in the Slavik region known as Bohemia.
10. I actually don’t mind the smell of skunk . . .
11. For all my lamentations about missing Starbucks, I really do love living in a small town.

And the nominees are:
I haven’t been blogging long, but I have a pretty substantial list of people I follow. Having said that, I have limited time to read blog posts, so I went through my list of blogs I follow and if I found one that stuck in my head as one I have definitely read, or commented on, or actually look for their posts in my Reader, and they met the follower maximum numbers as far as I could tell, then those are the ones I nominated. You’ll find mostly writers and book reviewers (or both) on this list, so you can see where my interests lie. I hope you find some of these blogs a good read as well. Incidentally, several are teen bloggers who write and do book reviews. I’m personally fascinated with them as I don’t think I could have accomplished what they do on a daily basis back when I was teen!

Olivia Rivers at Writers Write, Right?
Unikke Lyfe: I’m just a girl who’s trying to get by, while blogging along the way
AnQi over at page eight hundred ninety
Veronica, Ashley and Jen who write at Citygirlscapes
Marie Sweetman at You’re Gonna Need a Bigger Book
Sarah J. Carlson, Author
Nevillegirl over at Musings from Neville’s Navel
Emily mead The Loony Teen Writer
and last but not least Melissa and Christina at Allodoxophopbia

As for my 11 questions . . .

1. For the writers: What do you write? For everyone else: What type of books do you enjoy reading? (You can answer both if you want)
2. If you could choose one book character to be, who and why?
3. Marvel or DC?
4. If you could be transported back (or forward) in time, but you had to stay there forever, where would that be, why, and what one thing would you take with you?
5. Summer, winter, spring or fall?
6. What’s your favorite flower or plant?
7. Rightie or leftie?
8. How do you get around on a daily basis? Car, bike or your own two legs?
9. If there was one thing you would want people to do in your hometown (where you live now) what would that be?
10. What book have you read that you think should be mandatory reading for high school kids?
11. What book are you reading right now?

Thanks for participating. I mean, assuming you participate! 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading everyone’s answers!

7 thoughts on “Liebster Award – What’s a Liebster?

  1. Ooh, lovely questions.

    Ahaha, I love colorful socks too. I was packing for a trip the other day, making little piles of different kinds of clothes, and my mom asked if I had ANY normal socks.
    Me: What’s the point in that? I like neon sparkly socks with all different patterns.

    And I’m also (mostly) Bohemian.
    “Is this the real life, or is this just fantasy…”

    Like

    • Wow! We have a lot in common. Of course, it may be a little more socially acceptable for a teenage girl to wear bright socks. I’m 38. But I guess I really don’t care! 🙂

      And I’m quite a mix. My paternal great-grandfather was full blood Bohemian and my paternal great-grandmother was full blood English. But there’s also Irish and French mixed in there too. Plus others I haven’t researched yet.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It was so nice of you to nominate me! It sounds very fun and I will get to writing my post in the very near future. 😀

    Like

  3. Also, I really like Revolution as well! I haven’t gotten to watch the second season yet, but I heard that they cancelled the show after the season finale. 😦 The show was really well acted and planned – it’s so sad that they’ve decided to discontinue it.

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Liebster Award | citygirlscapes

Leave a Reply

