Movie Review – The Fault in Our Stars

TFIOS Move Poster
The Fault in Our Stars on IMDB

Directed by Josh Boone
Produced by Wyck Godfrey & Marty Bowen
Screenplay by Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber
Based on The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Starring:
Shailene Woodley
Ansel Elgort
Nat Wolff
Laura Dern
Sam Trammell
Willem Dafoe

Music by Mike Mogis & Nate Walcott
Cinematography: Ben Richardson
Edited by Robb Sullivan
Production company: Temple Hill Entertainment
Distributed by 20th Century Fox
Running time: 125 minutes
Country: United States
Language: English
Budget: $12 million
Box office: $166,485,097

Author’s Note: Written Thursday night at about 11pm

I lied. This is not a movie review. I just got back from seeing John Green’s amazing novel portrayed on screen, and I just can’t. I can’t. I’ve read a few reviews, and they point out imperfections, but I didn’t need perfect. I just needed to be swept away. And I was.

I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly and then all at once. – Hazel Lancaster – The Fault in Our Stars

If you haven’t seen it, go do so. Better yet, go read the book. Maybe you’ll be finished before the movie is out of theaters. Then you can go see it and cry your eyes out with strangers like I did. Minions #1 & 2 were gone, no babysitter so hubby had to stay home with kiddies. All. Alone. Crying. Of course, this is how I read the book, so I guess it’s fitting.

No, I’m not going to talk about the movie. If you don’t go see it, you’re missing out and I can’t help you. If you haven’t read the book, well, same, but hey, I guess we all miss out on some things. I realize I have never read Anne Frank: Diary of a Young Girl. How does any American girl get through life without having read that book? I’m not sure how I did, but I need to rectify it.

That’s the thing about pain, it demands to be felt. – Augustus Waters – The Fault in Our Stars

What I want to talk about is oblivion. Like Augustus, I fear it. I fear it with every fiber of my being. That feeling that I was born to be special, to achieve, to be remembered. It is my hamartia—my fatal flaw. My expectations hamper my every day happiness, and yet I seek to appease its insatiable desire for recognition, for achievement, for validation.

You know, it’s kid stuff, but I always thought my obituary would be in all the newspapers, that I’d have a story worth telling. I always had this secret suspicion that I was special. – Augustus Waters – The Fault in Our Stars

And what is more tragic? Gus’s young life cut short before he had a chance to face down oblivion? Or someone like me who’s had thirty-eight years to show that cruel fate who’s boss and come up short? Both, I guess. Unused potential is unused potential. Of course, Gus is fictional, but still, how many of you know someone who died too young? Whether it’s cancer or a car accident or suicide. I could make a list right now, but you wouldn’t know them, and that’s not the purpose of this post. They are remembered in my heart, and the hearts of others, and that is enough.

I just want to be enough for you, but I never can be. This can never be enough for you. But this is all you get. You get me, and your family, and this world. This is your life. I’m sorry if it sucks. But you’re not going to be an NBA star, and you’re not going to hunt Nazis. – Hazel Lancaster – The Fault in Our Stars

Enough. Is it ever enough? For people like me and Gus, probably not. But we need our Hazel Graces to pull us back to reality. It doesn’t mean we will stop fighting oblivion. It just means, maybe for a few minutes now and then, we’ll realize what we have, and that it is enough.

EPSON MFP image

I’d like to leave you with one last thought from John Green’s novel. It is apropos, considering this is exactly how I felt after finishing The Fault in Our Stars. Strangely enough, on both accounts.

Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book. And then there are books like An Imperial Affliction, which you can’t tell people about, books so special and rare and yours that advertising your affection feels like betrayal – Hazel Lancaster – The Fault in Our Stars

2 thoughts on “Movie Review – The Fault in Our Stars

    • The book was even better, but I felt the movie did a good job of portraying the most important aspects of the story. it really was one of those books where I sat and cried for awhile and then wondered how I could change the world by getting others to read it! Yet it was so personal I had a hard time talking about it with others.

      Like

Leave a Reply

