Hijacking the Character Blog Hop

93-land-of-the-pirates--vector-cartoon-illustration-1113tm-v1So I saw Infinite Free Time was on the Character Blog Hop, and he invited anyone who wanted to participate to join in by tagging themselves in the comments. Naturally I couldn’t resist talking about my book, so thanks for the invite to invite myself. 🙂 It may not be an actual hijack, but close enough!

1) What is the name of your character? Is he/she fictional or a historic person?

My character has no name, hence the title I Have No Name. Not to give away too much, but she does develop names through the book (first a nickname, then one she chooses for herself.) It’s part of her character growth that she accepts that though she is no longer the person she used to be, she can still find happiness in the person she has become.

2) When and where is the story set?

The story is set 30-35 years into the future (I don’t set a date) and takes place in two locations. The first is a small Michigan town on the shores of Lake Huron and the second location is a not-so-secret government installation in Virginia known as Mount Weather.

3) What should we know about him/her?

The girl has some serious psychological issues. When the story opens she hasn’t seen another living person in two years. Before that she watched everyone she’s ever known die of the plague. The hallucinations are a problem, but the real issue is allowing anyone to ever get close to her again. She’s so messed up she doesn’t even want to get close to herself and tries to forget her own name.

4) What is the main conflict? What messes up his/her life?

All she wants is to be left alone, but as usual, we often want what is worst for us. When the girl discovers she is not the sole survivor of the plague, she is faced with not only allowing herself to feel for others again, but a war between survivors that could destroy the few people she’s finally come to care about.

5) What is the personal goal of the character?

That’s hard. It changes. First, she wants to be left alone. When she does make friends and finds a place in a community, she’s captured by a rival group and just wants to get home alive. But it isn’t that easy. Turns out the rival group isn’t full of “bad guys” as she was led to believe, and now she’s even starting to fall for one of them. Finding a way to keep the people she cares about safe is the most important thing. Matters of the heart come a distant second.

6) Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?

I Have No Name. I’m considering making the front page of my blog static with my idea for the hook in the hopes that others will critique and help me craft a better one! And I’ve considered posting my first chapter for the fun of it.

7) When can we expect the book to be published? 

No idea. I’m finishing edits and beginning query stage soon. I want to go the traditional route, though I’m not opposed to indie or self pub if it comes to that. We’ll see. I wouldn’t expect anything for a couple of years anyway.

Like Infinite, I’m not tagging anyone. Tag yourself in the comments and jump in!

5 thoughts on “Hijacking the Character Blog Hop

    • I’m glad it sounds interesting to you! As far as the name, I’ve been throwing it around my blog and I was part of the Like a Virgin Pitch Contest. Maybe that’s where you’ve heard it. If you think of something else, let me know! I probably won’t change it, but I like to know what is out there that it might be compared to.

      Like

Leave a Reply

