Book Review: Origins by Jessica Khoury


Buy Origin on Amazon.com
Add on Goodreads

Title: Origin
Author: Jessica Khoury
Age Range: 12 and up
Grade Level: 7 and up
Hardcover: 400 pages
Publisher: Razorbill; First Edition edition (September 4, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1595145958
ISBN-13: 978-1595145956
Amazon Review: 4.2/5 stars

Book blurb as seen on Amazon.com:

The jungle hides a girl who cannot die.

 

An electrifying action-romance that’s as thoughtful as it is tragic.

 

Pia has grown up in a secret laboratory hidden deep in the Amazon rain forest. She was raised by a team of scientists who have created her to be the start of a new immortal race. But on the night of her seventeenth birthday, Pia discovers a hole in the electric fence that surrounds her sterile home–and sneaks outside the compound for the first time in her life.

 

Free in the jungle, Pia meets Eio, a boy from a nearby village. Together, they embark on a race against time to discover the truth about Pia’s origin–a truth with deadly consequences that will change their lives forever.

I borrowed this book from my local library.

So, as usual, I’ll talk about the writing first. It wasn’t amazing, but it wasn’t bad either. It was pretty much unnoticeable, which was fine by me. Fantastic writing that sings is admirable and I thoroughly enjoy it, but sometimes I just want to get lost in a story. Khoury allowed me to read the story with interesting prose, but not be distracted by trying to write the next classic. Most YAs will never achieve such a goal, especially a Sci-Fi or Fantasy, so let me enjoy the tale. Khoury did just that.

I really liked this book, though I only gave it a 3. I guess I just didn’t love it. And if you want a 4 or 5 from me I’m going to have to love it. But the story was engaging and there were no love triangles, which will make some readers very happy. It was a little bit predictable in some cases, but that’s okay. There was enough suspense to move you through the book, still guessing about what might happen, even though you suspected what it would be. The characters were believable and Pia’s struggle between wanting to be a scientist and being true to herself was excellent. The idea that she was raised to think analytically and forget emotion, warring with her morality and the inciting love she feels for Eio was beautifully written.

I loved the ideas brought up in the book about morality, science, its purpose, immortality. They plagued me through out the text and I wanted a resolution. It seemed like there were ideas never mentioned on the subject, but Khoury does a nice job of summing things up without getting preachy. The ending was perfect and left me feeling entirely satisfied.

So, like I said, it gets a 3. The writing was good, but not stellar. I was a little annoyed at some of the names because I didn’t know how to pronounce them and had to think about it every time I read them, and it was slightly predictable. Still, entertaining and I look forward to the second book in the series, though Khoury wrapped it up so nicely I can’t imagine what it will be. Of course, I thought the same thing about Mindy McGinnis’ Not a Drop to Drink, and now I’ anxiously awaiting In a Handful of Dust.

My Review: 3/5 stars

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Origins by Jessica Khoury

  1. I was interested to read you review of this as I just finished Khoury’s book “Vitro” and I hated it. Poorly written, the plot was all over the place, the characters were whiny. Am I being harsh? maybe, but I’ve heard other readers who enjoyed “Origin” say that “Vitro” is the same story just a different setting. So maybe I chose yhe wrong one to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

