I’m so close I can taste it!

Tunnel Light

Do you see it? There, at the end of that tunnel. What is it? My finished novel! So I’m not quite there, but it’s so close.

I started I Have No Name in January of 2013. I remember it specifically, because I took a long weekend away from the family to write alone in a cabin in the woods. Not the scary kind either! I was barely off a main highway, I had internet and cable, and the house was somewhat luxurious, as far as cabins go. But I spent almost every spare minute getting my novel started. It had been a couple of years since I began developing the idea for No Name, so I had everything worked out in my head. I just needed to get it on paper, er screen.

So here I am, almost finished. All I need to do is write a poem/song lyrics of which I’ll use a tiny excerpt, re-read on my kindle making no changes to assure continuity, and then make one final critical read-through to eliminate unnecessary words/sentences/paragraphs. Still, sounds like a lot, but it won’t be. I don’t have to have the song lyrics, but it would be a nice touch, so if the words aren’t flowing I’ll skip it and keep it in the back of my mind for later. Re-reading on my kindle will be a snap. I read novels in two to three days, so it won’t take much.

The part that may take some time is trying to cut. Once again, not going to agonize over it. Though word count is important, most agents I’ve studied have basically said it’s only a rejection concern when your word count is so ridiculously high they’d never consider it. If you’re close, they might take a chance on a read if they like your query and your sample pages. So my strategy is to read chapters in random order, so I’m not invested in the story as a whole, but trying to improve one chapter at a time.

So what’s my point? Well, you may have noticed I haven’t been around in a couple of weeks. Maybe you didn’t notice, and that’s okay. My ego will survive. 🙂 Between vacation with spotty internet connection, getting home and settling back in, and working almost obsessively on my novel, I haven’t spent any time on my blog. I’m not quitting, just on hiatus. But once I get back in the swing of things, here are a few posts to expect.

Queries! Queries! Queries! – Since I’ll be focusing on queries in the very near future, I’ll be blogging about them too. I’ll try to put together an informative post about sites and info I’ve found to be helpful, but don’t expect enlightening advice from me! I am terrible at queries, and I’ll probably spend some time lamenting my inability to write a good one. I may even post a few tries to see what everyone thinks. Input would be greatly appreciated.

Book Reviews – I’ve done a bit of reading (28 hours in a car makes for a lot of reading time!) Here are a few of the bad boys I’ll be reviewing in the coming month: Splintered by A.G. Howard, In the After by Demitria Lunetta, Glory, Passion and Principle: The Story of Eight Remarkable Women at the Core of the Revolution, The Maze Runner by James Dashner, and Days of Blood and Starlight and Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor.

What should I write next? Having a little dilemma about what to write next and I think I’ll bounce a few ideas off you!

I have a huge list of things I want to blog about, but I’m not going to include them here, because I want to do them justice and they take time. I’m hopeful I can start blogging more as the book is finished, but writing has to be my first priority, blogging second. Actually, family first, but I thought that went without saying. Anyway, hopefully I’ll see everyone around soon. For now, back to the novel!

Adding about 30 minutes after posted: Can’t believe I forgot this one! I’ll make a blog post about our trip to Boston, or if I get ambitious, I’ll break it into several like restaurants, museums, transportation, etc. Not that I think I have that much interesting stuff to keep you entertained about Boston, but more as informative should anyone else like to visit.

4 thoughts on “I’m so close I can taste it!

Leave a Reply

