Book Review: Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor


Buy Dreams of Gods & Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone Book 3) on Amazon.com
Add on Goodreads

Title: Dreams of Gods & Monsters
Author: Laini Taylor
Series: Daughter of Smoke & Bone
Hardcover: 624 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; 1 edition (April 8, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0316134074
ISBN-13: 978-0316134071
Amazon Review: 4.6/5 stars

Book blurb as seen on Amazon.com:

In this thrilling conclusion to the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, Karou is still not ready to forgive Akiva for killing the only family she’s ever known.

When a brutal angel army trespasses into the human world, Karou and Akiva must ally their enemy armies against the threat–and against larger dangers that loom on the horizon. They begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people. And, perhaps, for themselves–maybe even toward love.

From the streets of Rome to the caves of the Kirin and beyond, humans, chimaera, and seraphim will fight, strive, love, and die in an epic theater that transcends good and evil, right and wrong, friend and enemy.

I borrowed this book from my local library.

I have to admit, I think I’m getting tired of writing book reviews. Maybe it’s just because the books I’m reviewing I read weeks ago, or maybe because I’m feeling so much pressure to get my novel ready for submission. Whatever the case, I think I’m going to take a different approach, oh, about 4 reviews from now. 🙂 I always forget to keep notes while I’m reading, so that’s something I’ll change, and I guess I’ll just talk about things that jump out at me, give a brief overall judgement, and my stars. Maybe that’s not so different, but being organized might help. And writing it immediately instead of waiting two weeks!

So on to Dreams of Gods & Monsters. As you can tell by my previous reviews (Daughter of Smoke & Bone and Days of Blood & Starlight) I love this series! I started a Pinterest fan-board, so that should show how much I love it. So there really isn’t much more to say. Taylor’s writing is magnificent. She transports me to another world and I read her books as I breath air. I feel as if I am a character in the book, feeling the despair and the heartache, experiencing the never-ending war that seems to have no resolution, and hanging on to the thread of a hope that something can be done. Taylor moves us through the story, until we can see an ending. We can understand all the characters, their thoughts, motivations, actions and desires. We aren’t left wondering why did they do that? Or how did they get to this point? All is shown and taught and developed within us, until it is just a story that exists in our minds much like a fairy tale drilled into us from childhood. It doesn’t need explaining, it just is.

If Taylor had a drawback, it was this. She succumbed to the established author problem of over-writing the book. I’m not complaining. I’ll take as many novels as she’d like to produce, but she definitely could have shortened things up.We had two to three pages explaining a second in time and how it affected each and every person in the room, or drawn out descriptions of how someone felt in graphic detail. I enjoyed every second, don’t get me wrong, but only an established author with a strong following can get away with that. Oh, to have that pull some day!

And the ending. It was acceptable. I don’t need fairy-tale-perfect-everyone-lives-happily-ever-after. In fact, I don’t like those. You can’t go through hell and be Mary Poppins on the other side. Yes, I’m talking about you, Bella. And there are others, but I like my characters to suffer, and for the reader to understand that suffering doesn’t stop with THE END. So, Taylor makes sure we get a realistic ending. And I liked it. But she left it open. Is there another book? Is there another series? You can’t leave them with, “Oh, you saved the world, but now here’s another major catastrophe you need to fix. Good luck!” Or rather, you can’t leave ME with that! Dear God, woman! Have you no heart? Well, if there’s more to read: Yea! If not: Seriously?! I need a little more resolution than that.

My Review: 4.5/5 stars


Buy Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone Book 1) on Amazon.com
Add on Goodreads


Buy Days of Blood & Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone Book 2) on Amazon.com
Add on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

