My Kyrosmagica Review of It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

In light of recent high profile suicides, and my own battle with depression, I’d like to share this book review. And I’ll probably be adding it to my TBR pile. As a person who knows what depression feels like, it is sometimes difficult to read about it, but I think I may have to on this one.

M J Mallon Author

 

thNXH2VL26

Goodreads Synopsis:

Ambitious New York City teenager Craig Gilner is determined to succeed at life – which means getting into the right high school to get into the right job. But once Craig aces his way into Manhattan’s Executive Pre-Professional High School, the pressure becomes unbearable. He stops eating and sleeping until, one night, he nearly kills himself.

Craig’s suicidal episode gets him checked into a mental hospital, where his new neighbors include a transsexual sex addict, a girl who has scarred her own face with scissors, and the self-elected President Armelio. There, Craig is finally able to confront the sources of his anxiety.

Ned Vizzini, who himself spent time in a psychiatric hospital, has created a remarkably moving tale about the sometimes unexpected road to happiness.

Author Biography:

Vizzini grew up primarily in the Park Slope neighborhood of Brooklyn in New York City. He attended Stuyvesant High School…

View original post 565 more words

2 thoughts on “My Kyrosmagica Review of It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

  1. I should have known this was a book. I saw the movie and really liked it, it had a really good message. I usually don’t read these kinds of books, but I’ll wait to see what your review says about it before I cross it off the list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

