TV Show Review: Red Band Society

You can watch the Red Band Society at 9/8C on Fox.

Your body isn’t you, your soul is you. And they can never cut into your soul.

This quote right here. That got me. There was no way I wasn’t watching. And by watching I mean recording on my DVR so I can skip commercials later. That’s pretty much how I watch all TV, except sports. There’s nothing like the potentially soul crushing possibility of your team losing while you’re biting your nails and jumping in and out of the recliner and shouting at the TV in real time. Ahhhh . . .

But back to RBS. I was guessing this show was created in response to all The Fault In Our Stars hype, but I was willing to give it a try. Especially since it stars Octavia Spencer as Nurse Jackson. I loved her in The Help.

RBOlivia68DJ1-photos-lightbox-tbd

And I wasn’t disappointed, at least, not much. It has the obligatory Augustus Waters character in Leo Roth, played by Charlie Lowe. He’s not exactly Gus, but he’s missing a leg due to cancer and he used to be a sports star. That’s where the comparison ends. Otherwise, he’s completely different, and that’s actually a good thing. I loved Gus, but I don’t want to watch a TV show that just tries to copy him. And there’s obviously going to be some love triangles going on, but hey, I can probably deal with that.

RBCharlie75DJ1-photos-lightbox-tbd

The writing was mostly decent. Every now and then I felt they fell into the trap of cliched and lazy writing, but for the most part it was decent. It was only one show, so I’m guessing they’ll continue to flesh out the characters. Dash was a bit cliched, but we’ll see, and I get making Kara this bitter, bitch with something else inside that we’ll see in future shows, but why did Emma have to be bitchy too. All the female characters are unapproachable or kind of a ditz in the case of Brittany. Once again, one episode under the belt, and I’ll continue to give it a chance.

I did actually tear up a few times. Okay, I outright cried. And the part where they show Leo playing soccer really got to me. I hope they do more of this so we can see what led these kids to their current situations, I mean, besides major health issues. And Dr. McAndrew who’s played by Dave Annable is Ryan Gossling if he’d gone to med school. A lovely combination if you ask me.

RBDave73DJ1-photos-lightbox-tbd

All in all, I’d say it was decent and has me tentatively hooked. We’ll see how it goes.

My Review: 4/5 stars

4 thoughts on “TV Show Review: Red Band Society

  1. I thought it was adorable, my husband was less thrilled. I think it’s going to be what I watch while he watches other shows I don’t care about. I did feel some of the cliches, but I was kind of expecting them, hopefully it gets better!

    Like

    • It started out cliche for me, but by the end I was feeling it. granted, some of it was still cheesy, but so far there are enough great moments to out weigh the so-so. I haven’t watched tonight’s episode. I’m not sure my hubby is really interested either! 🙂

      Like

  2. I haven’t heard of it, might give it a limited go if it comes down under. Limited means if it doesn’t get me in four episodes I’m out. Love that you tape and skip through the adds -me too. I mean who is around when a show is actually on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

