I’m a liar . . .

I feel I owe all of you a minor apology. Okay, maybe not apology, but explanation. I said on this blog that I was going to participate in NaNoWriMo this year by starting the second book in my series. I would never pants my way through NaNo, or any book, I’m just too much of a planner, and it’s the only book I have plotted in my head right now. But I’ve come to a realization over the past month or so since that posting. My YA Post-Apocalyptic may not get an agent and consequently a publisher right now. The sneaking suspicion has been loitering in my brain, being dutifully ignored, but those rejection letters have helped to make it loud and clear. Oh, and this:

I’m certainly not finished querying my novel. I’ve given it my heart and soul, so I’m not going to abandon it so easily. But I don’t plan to put all my eggs in one basket, so I’m planning a new novel. And since I haven’t planned it yet, I can’t write it. Remember, no panster here. So NaNoWriMo is going to be NaNoReMo fro me (National Novel Researching Month).

And by way of encouragement, well, encouragement for me, here’s a little piece of a pleasant rejection letter I received from one of my dream agents:

I really like the writing here—it’s punchy and clean. That said I think it’d be very difficult to sell a post-apocalyptic novel just now, as I’m finding editors are a still suffering from a bit of dystopian/post-apoc fatigue. I don’t think I can take this project on, but if you have more you’d like to share, I’d be interested to see your other work down the line.

Umm, he’d like to see my future work. My future work! This is all the encouragement I need to know I’m on the right track. Maybe not with this novel (though, once again, haven’t given up), but the next, or the next. I’ve managed to gain attention from some pretty amazing agents with a concept that has been declared well-done. I am by no means discouraged by my rejections. Writing is a long term commitment and not for the faint of heart. I am a stalwart rock!

One thought on “I’m a liar . . .

Leave a Reply

