Lenten Post #2: Coming out again, and again, and again . . .

gems

In Post #2 of my 2016 Lenten challenge (read more here) I’m sharing a blog post I have shared before. It is a piece that affected me deeply and has helped to shape how I see and approach the world and the people in it. Lucas Hargis talks about having to come out to people again and again, and how some people he’s known a long time view that coming out, and it made me think about my own thoughts and reactions to people. I hope it gives you some insight as well.

Lucas Hargis: An Open Letter to Everyone From Back Then

**Please remember, this exercise is meant for the improving of ones mind, not their debating skills. If you disagree with me, or any of the articles I present, please keep it to yourself. I do not want to bring negative commentors to the blogs I share, nor do I care to hear your arguments about what I’m doing. This is for educational purposes. Take what you can from it, but don’t leave your crap behind.**

**And if you have suggestions of articles or blogs that I can share, please leave links below! I would love help in this endeavor.**

16 thoughts on “Lenten Post #2: Coming out again, and again, and again . . .

  1. Pingback: Lenten Post #3: Dalia Mogahed and why she wears a hijab | Jennifer Austin – Author

  2. Pingback: Post #4: Why Diversity in Children’s Literature Really Matters | Jennifer Austin – Author

  3. Pingback: Post #5: The Emotional Toll of Growing Up Black in America | Jennifer Austin – Author

  4. Pingback: Post #6: Picture from the Box | Jennifer Austin – Author

  5. Pingback: Post #7: Diversity 101 | Jennifer Austin – Author

  6. Pingback: Post #8: Study examines television, diversity and self-esteem | Jennifer Austin – Author

  7. Pingback: Post #9: Growing up Muslim in America | Jennifer Austin – Author

  8. Pingback: Post #10: White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack | Jennifer Austin – Author

  9. Pingback: Post #11: Explaining White Privilege to a Broke White Person | Jennifer Austin – Author

  10. Pingback: Post #12: It’s a Choice! Oh Shit! | Jennifer Austin – Author

  11. Pingback: Post #13: Representation Matters | Jennifer Austin – Author

  12. Pingback: Post #14: #DisabledTwitter Needs to be Dominated by Disabled Voices | Jennifer Austin – Author

  13. Pingback: Post #15: #BuzzWordsBeDamned | Jennifer Austin – Author

  14. Pingback: Post #16: Listen and Learn . . . | Jennifer Austin – Author

  15. Pingback: Post #17: Comprehensive List of LGBTQ+ Term Definitions | Jennifer Austin – Author

  16. Pingback: Post #18: Discussion: Body Positivity in YA – Where’s the Love For Curvy Women? | Jennifer Austin – Author

Leave a Reply

