Post #6: Picture from the Box

Dave and Joe

Sunday morning I woke up and realized I had forgotten to create my post the night before. So I looked through my list of links I had saved for future posts, but none seemed quite right. There are several I am anxious to share with all of you, but am holding those for later. And I decided I wanted to share a post on disability, so of course I began to search disability blogs. Huffington and Slate and Time have excellent articles, but if you really want to get to the heart of an issue, turn to personal blogs. They can be crude, irreverent, but often beautiful. They aren’t writing for money or publicity, they’re writing to share the inner most corners and nooks of their hearts.

In my research I found the disability-centered blog of Dave Hingsburger, and though he has many excellent posts regarding what it’s like to live in a world were being disabled is being an “other”, the post he shared on Valentine’s day particularly struck me. As it is so personal and evoked such a visceral feeling in me, I felt I must gain Dave’s permission to share it on my own blog. Dave didn’t get back to me until last night, so I am sharing this post today. It is a bit long, but hit me deeply with it’s pain. I feel it is a very important read for anyone who celebrated their Valentine’s Day with the one they love. Not everyone has always had the freedom to express such emotions.

Dave Hingsburger: The Picture From the box

Lenten Challenge 2016
Post #2: Coming Out Again, and Again, and Again . . .
Post #3: Dalia Mogahed and why she wears a hijab
Post #4: Why diversity in Children’s Literature really Matters
Post #5: The Emotional Toll of Growing Up Black in America

12 thoughts on “Post #6: Picture from the Box

  1. Pingback: Post #7: Diversity 101 | Jennifer Austin – Author

  2. Pingback: Post #8: Study examines television, diversity and self-esteem | Jennifer Austin – Author

  3. Pingback: Post #9: Growing up Muslim in America | Jennifer Austin – Author

  4. Pingback: Post #10: White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack | Jennifer Austin – Author

  5. Pingback: Post #11: Explaining White Privilege to a Broke White Person | Jennifer Austin – Author

  6. Pingback: Post #12: It’s a Choice! Oh Shit! | Jennifer Austin – Author

  7. Pingback: Post #13: Representation Matters | Jennifer Austin – Author

  8. Pingback: Post #14: #DisabledTwitter Needs to be Dominated by Disabled Voices | Jennifer Austin – Author

  9. Pingback: Post #15: #BuzzWordsBeDamned | Jennifer Austin – Author

  10. Pingback: Post #16: Listen and Learn . . . | Jennifer Austin – Author

  11. Pingback: Post #17: Comprehensive List of LGBTQ+ Term Definitions | Jennifer Austin – Author

  12. Pingback: Post #18: Discussion: Body Positivity in YA – Where’s the Love For Curvy Women? | Jennifer Austin – Author

Leave a Reply

