Letters to My Representatives 2-6-2107

Here are today’s letters to my representatives. The first will be sent to both of my Democratic Senators from MI, Debbie Stabenow and Gary Peters:

Dear Senator Stabenow,

I would like to encourage you to vote NO on the following cabinet appointees: DeVos, Pruitt, Sessions, & Mnuchin. I thank you for already taking a NO stance on some of them.

I thank you for your opposition to the Extreme Vetting/Muslim Ban EO and ask that you sponsor or support legislation to overturn it.

I was deeply concerned about Steve Bannon being placed on the National Security Council, and outright horrified when I read Trump may not have even known what he was signing. I oppose Steve Bannon’s placement on the NSC. He is a white-supremacist & his inflammatory work at Breitbart makes him completely unqualified & dangerous to be on the NSC. I encourage you to sponsor or support legislation that will keep him off that council.

I know you support the ACA, and I ask you to continue that and oppose any legislation to repeal it. It does need changes to make it work better for all Americans, but I think the collective intelligence and hard work of Congress can make that happen if they can stop thinking party first.

I encourage you to vote NO on HR7. Though my personal feelings on abortion are that it should only be used in the most extreme of circumstances, I do not believe it is my place to take away that option from other women, not penalize insurance companies for paying for it. I also believe that safe and legal abortions should be available, and that we should focus our efforts on education, providing birth control, and providing support structures so that people can make the choice to keep a pregnancy & support themselves and their child in the future.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Austin

The next is to my Representative in the House, Republican Paul Mitchell:

Dear Representative Mitchell,

I encourage you to strongly oppose the Extreme Vetting/Muslim Ban EO and ask that you sponsor or support legislation to overturn it.

I was deeply concerned about Steve Bannon being placed on the National Security Council, and outright horrified when I read Trump may not have even known what he was signing. I oppose Steve Bannon’s placement on the NSC. He is a white-supremacist & his inflammatory work at Breitbart makes him completely unqualified & dangerous to be on the NSC. I encourage you to sponsor or support legislation that will keep him off that council.

I encourage you to support the ACA and oppose any legislation to repeal it. It does need changes to make it work better for all Americans, but I think the collective intelligence and hard work of Congress can make that happen if they can stop thinking party first.

I encourage you to vote NO on HR7. Though my personal feelings on abortion are that it should only be used in the most extreme of circumstances, I do not believe it is my place to take away that option from other women, not penalize insurance companies for paying for it. I also believe that safe and legal abortions should be available, and that we should focus our efforts on education, providing birth control, and providing support structures so that people can make the choice to keep a pregnancy & support themselves and their child in the future.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Austin

It’s okay to feel discouraged and like nothing you do is helping, but I assure you this is not the case. I’m going to share below a thread I made on Twitter about winning and losing. Yes, I called it an “emerging Fascist America”, and I don’t regret that. Maybe Trump will be unable to achieve authoritarianism whether we fight or not, or maybe he will. I’m not waiting around complacently to find out.

winning-losing-1

winning-losing-2

Leave a Reply

