Letters to My Representatives 2-16-2017

Here is my letter to representative Paul Mitchell (R) MI-10th today. It is a response to his letter that you will find below mine. I originally expressed my concerns about the Trump Administration and was not entirely pleased with his response. (I’d rather have no response than empty platitudes.)

Dear Representative Mitchell,

I received your letter in response to my concerns about the Trump and Republican Administration and I had a few thoughts I would like to share with you in case you choose to further contact your constituents who express valid concerns anchored heavily in facts.

First, let me say that I appreciate the sentiment that you “will work diligently to make sure this administration, like any other, is held accountable to the American people.” It’s a lovely sentiment and looks pretty on paper, but I see little evidence that you or your colleagues have indeed chosen to uphold democracy, the Constitution, and protect the American people. When and if you do, I will be the first to praise you and your colleagues for doing what is right. Until then your assurances are not needed. I expect action, not words.

Second, I found your words “This transition has happened many times since the founding of our great democracy and it has always been accompanied by some level of anxiety and uncertainty” to be quite condescending. As a Freshman Congressperson, I’m sure if you speak to your more experienced colleagues, you will find that this “level of anxiety and uncertainty” is far from normal. I myself have never written to a Congressperson before. This is my own fault and failing, one I intend to rectify with due diligence. Our civic involvement should not, cannot, end at the polling station. But it took this “level of anxiety and uncertainty” to make a large sector of the US population stand up and get involved. You should not belittle or dismiss it as anything close to normal. Nor should you consider it “sour grapes” from losers. I am not focused on my candidate who lost the election, but rather the actions and words of the person currently in the White House.

I have followed 9 Presidential Elections in my lifetime (yes, even as I child I was interested in politics) and have voted in 6 with many local and state elections in between. So I am quite aware of the responses to winning or losing an election. And to be clear, my candidate did not always win their seat. Yet I never felt the need to question and mistrust my government as much as I do now. So please do not assume that your constituents are expressing unfounded concerns not based in fact, but rather a product of their anxious and overly taxed minds.

I also find it very concerning that Chaffetz is more concerned with who “leaked” the Flynn story to the press, and not about what this revelations can mean for the credibility of the Republican Administration. That is essentially attempting to punish a whistle blower looking out for the best interests of the American people, instead of the inappropriate decision to keep a potentially compromised person involved in the most secure parts of our government. It speaks to the priority of the GOP in that they are more interested in protecting their power than in protecting democracy. Trump knew about Flynn’s indiscretion weeks before and did nothing. This calls into question his decision making abilities.

In closing I would like to reiterate many of my concerns I have expressed before:
-Bannon should not be on the NSC
-We need a FULL Bipartisan investigation into Trump/Russia ties including:
-Financial ties with Russia
-Surrogates and campaign staff contact with Russian during campaign & prior to Inauguration
-Timing and content of Flynn contact with Russians
-The American people need to know why Sally Yates was fired
-I support the multi-agency investigations taking place concerning Michael Flynn
-The stepped up ICE raids not involved with criminal non-documented individuals is unethical and detrimental to our country
-Trump openly discussing matters of national and world security (North Korean testing of missiles) at Mar-a-Lago in front individuals without appropriate clearance is alarming and dangerous
-The amount of money the American people are expected to pay so Trump can go to Mar-a-Lago every weekend and have his wife in New York (I actually support Melania’s decision to stay in NY for her son, but we need to evaluate if the American people should be paying for this.)
-I oppose the Extreme Vetting/Muslim ban
-Please vote NO on HR643

Well, that should about cover it for today. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Austin

img_2388

Here is my letter to Senator Gary Peters today. Senator Debbie Stabenow will get a similar one as well. Please feel free to copy my letters or use them as a template to create your own. It is important that we continue to inundate our representatives with our stances on the issues and continue our level of engagement. If using my letters helps you to do that, that is why I’m posting them here. Also, visit It’s Time To Fight for detailed information on the issues and our needed actions.

Dear Senator Peters,

I would like to thank you for your letter in regards to my concerns about Rex Tillerson’s appointment as Secretary of State. It is good to know that there are people in Congress who have my, and the American people’s, best interests at heart. Please continue to stand up for what is correct in these troubling times. We are going to lose a lot of battles until 2018, but we can’t give up the fight.

Here are my concerns for today:

-Please vote NO on Pruitt as head of EPA

-Bannon should not be on the NSC; I encourage you to support action to remove him

-We need a FULL Bipartisan investigation into Trump/Russia ties including:

-Financial ties with Russia

-Surrogates and campaign staff contact with Russian during campaign & prior to Inauguration

-Timing and content of Flynn contact with Russians

-The American people need to know why Sally Yates was fired

-I support the multi-agency investigations taking place concerning Michael Flynn

-The stepped up ICE raids not involved with criminal non-documented individuals is unethical and detrimental to our country

-Trump openly discussing matters of national and world security (North Korean testing of missiles) at Mar-a-Lago in front individuals without appropriate clearance is alarming and dangerous

-The amount of money the American people are expected to pay so Trump can go to Mar-a-Lago every weekend and have his wife in New York (I actually support Melania’s decision to stay in NY for her son, but we need to evaluate if the American people should be paying for this.)

-I oppose the Extreme Vetting/Muslim ban

-Please vote NO on HR643

Thank you for your time and consideration. You can count on my continued support in the future and I would be happy to know about further actions I can take or issues I should be aware of to help further progress and protect democracy and our Constitution.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Austin

Leave a Reply

