Letters to My Representatives 2-28-2017

I sent the same letter to all three of my elected officials today. I so often hear pundits, politicians, and everyday citizens claiming that all Muslims should denounce the crimes that terrorists commit in the name of Islam, yet I don’t see it happen in reciprocity. I’ll start today:

I denounce White Nationalists. They do not speak for me.

I denounce White Supremacists. They do not speak for me.

I denounce anti-Semites. They do not speak for me.

I denounce Islamophobes. They do not speak for me.

I denounce alt-Right Nazis. They do not speak for me.

If we want this country to hear us loud and clear, we need to speak and take action. We can’t assume they will know we are against the hate infecting this country and they will fill our silence with their perception of our acquiescence.

Dear Senator Stabenow,

I am writing today to ask you to stand against the wave of hate crimes that are plaguing this country. I encourage you to make statements, often and strongly, against the more than 90 bomb threats that have targeted Jewish centers across the country as well as the desecration of Jewish cemeteries and the threats of violence against Muslims, specifically the threats of violence against a mosque in the Atlanta area and the shooting of Srinivas Kuchibhotla and Alok Madasani because the shooter thought they were Muslim.

I encourage you to ask for a joint FBI/ATF investigation with a multi-state task force. We need a coordinated investigation, not multiple individual ones. If there is one on going I would like to hear an official announcement of such.

I would also like you to strongly encourage Trump to make an unequivocal statement denouncing these acts and any person or organization that perpetrates them or supports them, and also that he does something about this. Hate crimes are on the rise, largely in my opinion because of his hate-filled and inflammatory rhetoric.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Austin

 

Leave a Reply

