Letters to My Representatives 3-6-2017

Here is today’s letter to Senator Debbie Stabenow. Senator Gary Peters received a similar one:

Dear Senator Stabenow,

Good morning!

First, I’d like to thank you for being vocal and outspoken about Trump not releasing his tax returns and not disclosing his ties to Russia. I encourage you to continue to push for an investigation and bring the truth to the American people. I thank you for calling for the resignation of Sessions and ask that you continue to push for consequences to him lying under oath. I am appalled at Trump’s plan to cut EPA funding, especially for the Great lakes Region, and ask that you continue to push for appropriate uses of funding in protecting our environment as a whole, and the Great Lakes in particular.

Now to more specific concerns:

I encourage you to support an investigation with a special prosecutor into Session’s lies under oath as well as his contact with Russian officials during the campaign.

I encourage you to ask for an investigation into the Yemen raid, what led to the raid, was information obtained or is the administration lying to us, and what led to Chris Owen’s death.

I encourage you to support the Dreamer’s Act. I want to know what you’re going to do about ICE’s detaining Dreamers, what you are going to do to protect them, and also what are you going to do about the increased activity of ICE, their blatant disregard for humanity and Trump’s vision to build up law enforcement and military. I see these as dangerous steps of a man who seeks authoritative power and he must be put in check now while we still can.

I ask you not to support HR 610.

I ask you not to support SJRes 18.

I would like to know how you intend to address the increased violence and threats of violence against Jewish and Muslim centers across this country. Hate crimes have increased for many people and we must do something to stop it now.

I encourage you to delay Gorsuch’s nomination until a full investigation has been done into Russia’s tampering with our election and the Trump campaign’s contact and financial ties to Russia. If wrong doing has occurred we need to know because Trump’s legitimacy is in question and we need to halt this nomination.

In fact, I encourage you to read Charles Blow’s article, Pause this Presidency. He makes some very valid points about whether we should be allowing Trump to make decisions when his very existence as president is in question. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/06/opinion/pause-this-presidency.html

I am deeply disturbed at Trump rolling back protections for transgender youth and I ask you to continue to fight for our children. We cannot allow the GOP to alter the progressive fabric of this country and must stand up to every attempt to dismantle it.

Lastly, as I have indicated before, I call for a full investigation into Trump, Sessions, Flynn, Manafort, Stone (wikileaks back channel), Kushner and the Trump campaign as a whole. We need to know who had contact when, what they talked about and when they lied about it. We need to know all of Trump’s financial ties to Russia. It is imperative we know now what went on during the election and leading up to the inauguration. There are far too many issues happening for there not to be a full investigation. The very legitimacy of the presidency and our democracy depends on it.

Thank you for your time,

Sincerely,

Jennifer Austin

Here is today’s letter to Representative Paul Mitchell:

Dear Representative Mitchell,

Good morning!

I encourage you to support appropriate funding for the EPA, not the ridiculous cuts Trump has proposed. I ask this for the country as a whole, but specifically for the 97% budget cuts he proposes for the Great Lakes.

I encourage you to support an investigation with a special prosecutor into Session’s lies under oath as well as his contact with Russian officials during the campaign.

I encourage you to ask for an investigation into the Yemen raid, what led to the raid, was information obtained or is the administration lying to us, and what led to Chris Owen’s death.

I encourage you to support the Dreamer’s Act. I want to know what you’re going to do about ICE’s detaining Dreamers, what you are going to do to protect them, and also what are you going to do about the increased activity of ICE, their blatant disregard for humanity and Trump’s vision to build up law enforcement and military. I see these as dangerous steps of a man who seeks authoritative power and he must be put in check now while we still can.

I ask you not to support HR 610.

I would like to know how you intend to address the increased violence and threats of violence against Jewish and Muslim centers across this country. Hate crimes have increased for many people and we must do something to stop it now.

I encourage you to read Charles Blow’s article, Pause this Presidency. He makes some very valid points about whether we should be allowing Trump to make decisions when his very existence as president is in question. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/06/opinion/pause-this-presidency.html

I am deeply disturbed at Trump rolling back protections for transgender youth and I ask you to fight for our children. I will not stand by and allow the GOP to damage the progression we have made for civil rights. The moral arc of the universe bends toward justice. The GOP may put temporary halts to equality for all people, but it will not last and history has it’s eyes on you. It has never looked back kindly on people who stand in the way of human rights.

Lastly, as I have indicated before, I call for a full investigation into Trump, Sessions, Flynn, Manafort, Stone (wikileaks back channel), Kushner and the Trump campaign as a whole. We need to know who had contact when, what they talked about and when they lied about it. We need to know all of Trump’s financial ties to Russia. It is imperative we know now what went on during the election and leading up to the inauguration. There are far too many issues happening for there not to be a full investigation. The very legitimacy of the presidency and our democracy depends on it.

Thank you for your time,

Sincerely,

Jennifer Austin

Leave a Reply

