Letters to My Representatives 3-8-2017

Here is today’s letter. All three received the same basic letter with a few small tweaks.

Dear Senator Stabenow,

My daily letter is a little late today because I delivered flowers to all the female staff at my sons’ school this morning in honor of International Women’s Day and in acknowledgment of a Day Without a Woman. I am a writer and a stay-at-home mom, so striking was not really a statement I could make, though I am refraining from using social media and making any purchases today. I am wearing red and doing what I can to promote awareness that all people need equality.

I would like to thank you for your continued stance to support and promote women. You are doing necessary work.

I would like for you to ask for or use influence to ask others for a CBO score for the AHCA. It is inappropriate that the GOP is trying to ram this bill through before Congress, health experts, and the American people are given a chance to analyze what this bill means. We need comprehensive analysis of something before we are forced to accept a GOP agenda that will damage Americans and their healthcare. I encourage you not to support this bill.

I am opposed to Trump’s newest Muslim ban, and yes I will call it that, because no matter what kind of mental gymnastics he and the GOP try to use to sell this, it is a Muslim ban. He insults the men and women who have worked tirelessly to protect our country and vet incoming immigrants and refugees by claiming the process is not stringent enough. And he violates human rights and basic ethics of our country. I encourage you to oppose this legally-questionable act.

Once again, I want to see a full investigation done into Trump’s ties including financial and any other to Russia, especially during the election. This includes a full investigation into Trump’s associates during the campaign such as Flynn, Kushner, Manafort, Sessions and others. The American people deserve to know the truth. Trump should not be making decisions that affect the American people while these questions are still unanswered.

I will not be writing letters tomorrow, as I will be using that time to thank woman on social media and in person for all that they do. I think it is important that we continue to make a statement about important issues affecting this country and I want you to know that I am doing my part to contribute to the narrative.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Austin

Leave a Reply

