Letters to My Representatives 4-26-2017

Here is today’s letter to my representatives. This is the one I sent to Senator Stabenow. Senator Peters received the same one, minus the first paragraph about jobs. Senator Stabenow works very hard to promote jobs not only in America, but Michigan specifically. Check out her American Jobs Agenda.

Representative Mitchell received the same letter minus the first paragraph on jobs, but also adding in this: I ask you to vote NO on HR620 and HR1493. I do not support any bill that takes away protections and assurances from disabled people.

Please feel free to use any or all of my letter to write/call your own representatives. We have a civic duty to inform our electeds what we expect of them. For more information go to It’s Time to Fight.

On a side note, my family will be moving in the next couple of months, and while that doesn’t affect who my Senators are, I will have a new Representative who will get the pleasure of my weekly letters.

Dear Senator Stabenow,

Thank you for your hard work and dedication to American jobs, and specifically Michigan jobs. I support your work to bring jobs back to the USA, support small businesses, and level the playing field for international business. I agree with your stance that if Trump is in earnest about helping American workers, you will work with him to improve our situation, but am so grateful that you stand by your commitment to civil rights, healthcare, and other progressive issues.

I would like to encourage you to continue working on a bipartisan spending bill that will allow the government to continue functioning after April 28th. However, I ask you not to support any measures proposed by Trump that would cut healthcare funding or support a wall on the Mexican/US border. While I do not want a government shutdown, I understand it may happen and I encourage you to stand firm on these issues. I understand that the GOP is receiving a lot of pressure from the White House to sign off on a spending bill that provides financing for the wall. I ask that you continue working with Democratic & Republican colleagues, to find mutually agreeable bipartisan solutions that will keep our government running.

I do not support any tax plan that includes elimination of payroll taxes. Those funds are needed for Social Security and Medicaid and the short term gain of a little more money in our pockets will result in a long term detriment to needed programs.

I do not support an Executive Order asking for a review of the Antiquities Act. I ask that you not support this and speak publicly about it.

​I am asking you to please vote NO, when you address any new version of the healthcare bill that is being brought forward. There is discussion of the proposed MacArthur Amendment, which would give the option of limited waivers. While the argument is that limited waivers would allow for wider coverage, it would actually allow insurers to go back to individual ratings to set premiums.

The byproduct of reverting back to the individual rating system would likely impact those with pre-existing conditions, forcing the costs of individual plans higher. Please do not allow ill constituents to be negatively impacted in this way.

I ask you to speak out about Mar-a-Lago being featured on State Department websites. It is not only an ethics violation, but implies that Mar-a-Lago is an official government site. It is not. We, the tax payers, are already shunting large sums of money to this resort through Secret Service fees and staff, it is reprehensible that Trump is making more and more money off his position. Not only do I ask you to speak out against Mar-a-Lago being featured on a government website, I also ask that you speak out against Trump’s continued visits there and the amount of money that we the American people are putting into Trump’s pocket through his constant visits.

I am concerned over Trump’s levying tariffs against Canadian lumber. They are our oldest and closest ally and friend and it seems like a bad idea to alienate them. It also demonstrates Trump’s rapid flip flopping on economic policies, not that I’m surprised, but it is one more indication of his volatile nature that reacts instead of thinks. The cost of this will be passed onto the consumer, so in all likelihood, the American people will suffer from this, not Canada. Does Trump even have a plan for renegotiating NAFTA? Because this move seems haphazard and not well thought out. Please question the Trump administration on the purpose of this move, the strategy, and what are the future plans for renegotiating NAFTA.

I am concerned over Trump signing the H-1B (skilled workers visa). We are setting ourselves up to limit talent we will need to bring into this country, as well as limit competition. We as a country will not improve and grow if we don’t have impetus. Competition with foreign markets and foreign workers does that.

I will continue to ask for a full bipartisan independent commission to investigate Trump/Russia ties. I will probably write you further on this later this week, but my research time is limited today.

Lastly, I look forward to what you have to say after the Senate meeting with Trump at the White House on DPRK. I am hopeful that you and the Senate will be a moderating factor with the Trump WH, as I fear their volatile nature and rash decisions. Please keep us informed and speak for the American people in the face of a president that doesn’t actually seem to care about the American people.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Austin

 

Leave a Reply

